Monday, October 26, 2015

Methodist Health System Foundation Honors Jack "Jackman" Lowe

Jack Lowe, Jr. is not used to surprises, but on October 14 he had an evening filled with them when Methodist Health System Foundation honored him as the 2015 Robert S. Folsom Leadership Award recipient at its annual fundraiser. Established in 2005, the award recognizes individuals whose demonstrated commitment and excellence in community leadership emulate the achievements of former Dallas Mayor Robert S. Folsom. Because of Lowe’s commitment to education and children, this year’s proceeds of more than $1.3 million net will go to support Methodist’s Centering Pregnancy Program, which has reduced premature rates by more than 50 percent, and to the Centering Parenting program to assist young mothers and their newborns during the first year of life. Each year, the event is personalized to celebrate the honoree, and this year was no exception.

Touch your mouse below to scroll through images from this event:
Methodist Health System Foundation Honors Jack "Jackman" Lowe
photos c/o Methodist Health System Foundation

Welcoming a record 820 people to the Grand Ballroom was the DISD Drumline Band playing lively tunes. It was special for Lowe as he served as a DISD trustee from 2002 to 2011 and as president from 2005 to 2008. Master of Ceremonies Gary Cogill welcomed guests and played on Lowe’s love of movies, particularly “The Princess Bride.” Cogill said, “This smiling, laughing ‘Princess Bride’ loving gentleman has been known a time or two to embrace the thrill of victory.” CEO of TDIndustries Harold MacDowell introduced the tribute video, which was a clever play on Batman but used “Jackman” to showcase Lowe solving many dilemmas ranging from those in business to those at DISD. Next, Lowe’s grandchildren came on stage to perform a skit to the Batman theme song, much to the surprise of Lowe himself. Afterwards, proud grandfather Lowe joined them on the stage to receive his award and a Jackman cape. Lowe joins an illustrious list of past recipients: Robert S. Folsom (2005), Nancy Ann Hunt (2006), Troy Aikman (2007), Laura Bush (2008), the late Norman Brinker (2009), Pat and Emmitt Smith (2010), Trevor Rees-Jones (2011), Mike Boone (2012), Rev. Mark Craig (2013) and Bobby B. Lyle (2014). More information is available at