Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Emmitt Smith Celebrity Invitational Kicks Off in Dazzling Style

Pat and Emmitt Smith kicked off the 6th Annual Emmitt Smith Celebrity Invitational presented by Softlayer last night at the home of Lisa and Steve Lieberman. Commercial Real Estate must be very good because - WOW - this was not a home but an estate of magnificent proportions. The Mediterranean-style villa provided a beautiful setting for all of the fabulous folks who showed up to lend their names (and money) to support Pat & Emmitt Smith Charities by agreeing to be on this year's Host Committee. The Honorable Ron Kirk and his wife Matrice, who will serve as Honorary Chairs for this year's gala with Sarah and Jud Chapin serving as Chairs. Kellie Rasberry, David and Tina "Bag Snob" CraigJane McGarry, designer Edo Popken, Shay and Brian Geyer and Scott and Carole Murray were among those in attendance. Emmitt stated that he is "all about breaking records" and that their plan is to raise two millions dollars. Going into last night's kickoff party, Pat excitedly announced that they are already over $560,000 of the way there. As Pat announced that fact, Emmitt yelled "And that's a catch no one can take away!" which led to rousing applause. Funds raised from this event will go to Pat & Emmitt Smith Charities which creates educational experiences and enrichment opportunities for underserved children in North Texas. The event is held in two parts: 1000 people will attend a black tie "Friday Night Lights" gala on May 8 at the Omni Hotel. This is a par-tay and from what I hear it is a throw down of epic proportions. I can't wait to attend this year's event! On Saturday, a golf tournament is held at TPC Craig Ranch. While the golf tournament is totally sold out (sorry golfers!) tickets and sponsorships are available for the Friday Night Lights gala. Tickets start at $500 and can be purchased at For more information on sponsorship opportunities, email Tifani Pinson at

pictured at the top: event Chairs Jud and Sarah Chapin, Pat and Emmitt Smith and Honorary Chairs Matrice Ellis-Kirk and The Honorable Ron Kirk (photo c/o Gittings)