Thursday, April 14, 2016

Local Celebs Strut The Runway For the SPCA of Texas

Dallas Celebs Strut The Runway For the SPCA of Texas 
photos c/o Kristina Bowman Photography

Canine couture met feline fashion at Project Ruffway, presented by the Gay and Lesbian Fund for Dallas, benefiting the SPCA of Texas, on Saturday, April 2. I was unable to attend this purr-featly fabulous event, but in a press recap I was told that co-chairs Betsy Orton and Brian Walker, along with Honorary Chair, Dallas County Commissioner Dr. Elba Garcia, celebrated the special bond between people and pets at the gorgeously over-the-top event. Steve Kemble, Master of Ceremonies, graced the catwalk as local celebs and influencer models strutted their stuff with well-dressed doggies on their arms. Most of the dogs were up for adoption at the SPCA of Texas, while others were already pampered pets. Guests hobnobbed with the adoptable dogs and cats in the adoption lobby of the ever-stunning Jan Rees-Jones Animal Care Center as they sipped wine, bubbly and the evening’s signature drink, the Cat’s Meow (a delightfully purple concoction of Equality Vodka, white cranberry juice, pineapple juice and raspberry Schnapps with a lime garnish). Noshes included savory and sweet delights from Bolsa Mercado, Mattito’s Tex-Mex, Steel Restaurant & Lounge and MLJ Catering. The funds raised from Project Ruffway will provide for a new Emergency Rescue Vehicle for the Animal Cruelty Investigations Unit at the SPCA of Texas.

“This vehicle will change the course of many lives,” said Katy Murray, SPCA of Texas Board Chair. “Where there was no medical care, food or water, shelter or warmth, a place to rest or a place to play, all of things will now become available to those animals. Each of you, by showing your support tonight for the Gay and Lesbian Fund for Dallas and the SPCA of Texas, has chosen to be the vehicle to make a difference in the lives of animals and we are so very grateful.” Project Ruffway was a tremendous success thanks to event chairs Betsy Orton and Brian Walker. The event committee includes Steve Atkinson, Robert Baker, Derek Case, Sharon Fancher, Mathieu Ulmschneider and Lindsey Webb. Models included: Cordell Adams, Lynn Bahr, Shelle Carrig, David Chard, Phyllis Comu, Leo Cusimano, Becky Frey, Don Gaiser, Rodd Gray, Kristen Greenberg, Tiffany Hendra, Geoffrey Henning, Cmaeron Hernholm, Gus Hinojosa, Angel Irvin, Ted Kincaid, LeeAnne Locken, Terry Loftis, Carol Meyer, Katy Murray, Lauren Mutti, Lisa Petty, Brad Pritchett, Derek Selders, Cooper Smith Koch, Terri Tomlinson, Giovanna Valderrama, Amy Vanderoef, Shane Walker and Jocelyn White. For more information, visit