Sunday, May 15, 2016

8th Annual Retail As Art Provides Scholarships For Dallas High School Photographers

Touch your mouse to the photo below to scroll through a gallery of photos from this event: 8th Annual Retail As Art

The 8th Annual Retail As Art gallery exhibition and awards ceremony took place on Thursday, April 21st at the Goss-Michael Foundation. Retail As Art is a photography scholarship competition founded by Mickey Ashmore, CBRE Chairman, Retail Services Americas and is open to all Dallas-Fort Worth area high school students. This year, 124 students from more than 25 DFW schools submitted photographs representing their best interpretation of “retail as art”. The gallery exhibition and awards ceremony was filled with positive energy as more than 300 students, teachers, families and supporters mingled in the art gallery. Guests enjoyed refreshments and hors d’oeuvres, while viewing the 124 student photographs on exhibit. The highlight of the evening was the scholarship awards presentation, given by Mickey Ashmore. Thanks to many generous sponsors, Retail As Art was able to award $22,000 in college scholarships to 14 deserving students. πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

The scholarship recipients included:

Best of Show First Place: $5,000 scholarship - Claire Marucci, The Hockaday School

Second Place (tie): $2,000 scholarship - Lauren Kuehmeier, Booker T. Washington and Addisyn Burlage, John Paul II High School

Third Place (tie): $1,500 scholarship - Shakira Melchior, North Dallas High School and Lily Duggan, Greenhill High School

Mickey & Temple Ashmore Awards: $1,000 scholarship
Michael Shipman/Keller High School, Claudia Canales/North Dallas High School and Carla Mendiola,/John Horn High School

Judges Awards: $1,000 Scholarship
Ann Pinson Award: Jamison DeCuir, Cistercian
Cal Young Award: Daniel Hu, Cistercian
Elizabeth Lavin Award: Amefon Out, South Grand Prairie High School
Jencey Keeton Award: Diane Campos, South Grand Prairie High School
Lilia Kudelia Award: Addisyn Burlage, John Paul II High School
Michael Mazurek Award: Jennifer Zuniga, H. Grady Spruce High School
Terri Provencal Award: Anahi Barron, Irma Rangel High School